University of Alabama at Birmingham


Kristin T. Avis, Ph.D., CBSM, Assistant Professor

Department of Pediatrics

kavis@peds.uab.edu

Area of specialization: Behavioral sleep medicine and traffic safety


Monica L. Baskin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Division of Preventive Medicine

mbaskin@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Childhood obesity prevention


Alan W. Eberhardt, Ph.D., Professor/Associate Dean

Biomedical Engineering

aeberhar@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Injury biomechanics


Fouad H. Fouad, Ph.D., P.E., Professor/Chair

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

ffouad@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Structural engineering, highway sign and traffic signal supports, reinforced concrete structures and concrete materials


Ian E. Hosch, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

hoschi38@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Structural engineering, structural dynamics and fatigue analysis of structures, pre-tested and reinforced concrete and fiber reinforced polymer composites


Jason T. Kirby, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

jtkirby@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Environmental engineering, natural, sustainable remediation technologies for use in urban and/or industrial settings


Robert W. Peters, Ph.D., P.E., Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

University of Alabama at Birmingham

rwpeters@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Environmental engineering, soil and groundwater remediation, hazardous waste treatment, sustainability


Lesley Ross, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Medical Psychology

lesleyross@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Psychology and applied gerontology


Talat Salama, Ph.D., P.E., Associate Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

talats@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Construction engineering management and structural engineering with emphasis in bridge design, testing and finite element methods


Bisakha (Pia) Sen, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Healthcare Organization and Policy

bsen@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Health economics and policy


Virginia P. Sisiopiku, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

vsisiopi@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Transportation engineering, congestion management, traffic operations and safety, simulation and modeling and non-motorized transportation

David C. Schwebel, Ph.D., Professor

Psychology

schwebel@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Pediatric pedestrian safety

 
Despina Stavrinos, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Medicine and Psychology

dstavrin@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Prevention and control of unintentional injuries

 
Andrew Sullivan, MSCE, P.E., Instructor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

University of Alabama at Birmingham

asullivan@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Congestion management, transportation system monitoring, traffic operations, and traffic control systems


Nasim Uddin, Ph.D., P.E., FASCE, Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

University of Alabama at Birmingham

nuddin@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Structural safety of bridge and building structure, fiber-reinforced polymner (FRP) composites for high performance infrastructure, natural hazard analyses and disaster risk reduction


Christopher J. Waldron, Ph.D., P.E., Assistant Professor

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

University of Alabama at Birmingham

cwaldron@uab.edu

Area of specialization: Structural engineering with particular emphasis on bridge design and construction, assessing and mitigating the impacts of increasing truck weights and truck volume